About Us

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women. This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea. 


The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: 1. Economic Development 2. Physical and Mental Health 3. Educational Development 4. Political Awareness and Involvement 5. International Awareness and Involvement 


For more information, visit our national website at:



For more information, visit the Southwest Region's website at:



The Delta Gamma chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was chartered on March 9th, 1949 on the campus of Texas Southern University. It was the first chapter of Delta Sigma Theta to be chartered in Houston, Tx.